New members inducted into Order of the Nucleus

  • Published
  • Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center Public Affairs
KIRTLAND AIR FORCE BASE, N.M. -- The Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center inducted six new members into its prestigious Order of the Nucleus on Nov. 4.

Maj. Gen. Scott W. Jansson, AFNWC commander, officiated the induction ceremony at The Canyon Club in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The ceremony recognized the Order of the Nucleus members and their contributions to national security and the Air Force's nuclear enterprise.

In his remarks at the ceremony, Jansson said the new members were inducted for their contributions to the nation’s nuclear enterprise and “without such dedication, we would not enjoy the freedom and safety we do today.”

Jansson added that nuclear deterrence operations “do not occur in a vacuum—people are ultimately the key ingredient in effective deterrence.”

“Our people must make sure our nuclear capabilities are never doubted, always feared,” Jansson said. “We have to work hard at maintaining this strategic posture every day. Today’s inductees, like all of the Order’s members, made significant contributions throughout their careers, which is precisely what this ceremony is about.”

The following individuals were inducted this year, receiving medals and certificates:
      • Benjamin C. Benjamin (posthumous), former senior mentor for Weapon Interns, Sandia National Laboratories
      • Dr. Donald L. Cook, former deputy administrator for Defense Programs, National Nuclear Security Administration
      • Eric N. Single, chief, Global Strike Division, Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Acquisition
      • Col. George R. Farfour, AFNWC vice commander
      • Jeffrey W. Bean, chief engineer, ICBM Systems Directorate, AFNWC
      • James A. Moyers, center historian, AFNWC

Jansson also gave the new members a commemorative AFNWC coin.